Found November 17, 2012 on Start 'N' Park Blog:
SMITHFIELD, VIRGINIA – Each year, the winner of the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship is rewarded with prize money, a championship trophy, a championship ring and other contingency prizes. This season Smithfield, with the help of Richard Petty Motorsports driver Aric Almirola, will see to it that someone will also “bring home the bacon.” Smithfield stepped up today to announce they will give a year’s supply of Smithfield bacon to the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion. The winner will be awarded with 52 coupons, good for one pound of Smithfield bacon per week. Smithfield offers a wide variety of bacon flavors and packages, including naturally hickory smoked regular, thick cut and butcher’s cut bacon, cracked peppercorn coated bacon, 30% lower fat center cut with sea salt bacon and pouch pack bacon. All will be available to the eventual 2012 Sprint Cup champion. Entering Sunday’s finale, two drivers are eligible to win the championship. Brad Keselowski will carry a 20-point lead into the weekend over five-time champion Jimmie Johnson, the only other driver who can catch Keselowski for the season-ending crown. Although Almirola will not be a part of the championship battle, he is proud to help reward the new champion. “With their support, my family has been enjoying Smithfield products all year, especially their bacon,” said Almirola. “This is really cool that they will give the 2012 champion a free, year-long supply of bacon. That’s a pretty cool bonus because who doesn’t love bacon?” Almirola posed next to the quantity of Smithfield bacon entering this weekend’s finale at the Homestead-Miami Speedway. “It’s a lot of bacon!” continued Almirola. “But, it’s also going to the winner of the Sprint Cup championship and they deserve it. I’m lucky, because our team has been fueled by Smithfield bacon all season, but now we’re going to reward the guy who made it to the pinnacle of our sport. If our team couldn’t do it this year, I’ll be glad to congratulate the team and driver that did.”   Smithfield and its various companies and brands including Eckrich, Gwaltney and Farmland, will be completing their first season sponsoring Richard Petty Motorsports and the No. 43 team. They are proud to be a partner of the Petty organization and also being a part of NASCAR’s premier series.   “We have been very proud to be involved in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and with our partners Richard Petty Motorsports and driver Aric Almirola this year,” said Dennis Pittman, Director of Corporate Communications and Public Affairs for Smithfield. “We wanted to celebrate the end of our first season by congratulating not only our No. 43 team, but also the 2012 champion. Everyone at Smithfield wishes both competitors the best of luck this Sunday, but only one will bring home the bacon. We’re just pleased it’s going to be Smithfield bacon.” Sunday’s season finale will be televised live on ESPN at 2:00 p.m. ET.

RPM re-signs Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola

Richard Petty Motorsports has re-signed both of its NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers. Marcos Ambrose will return to drive the No. 9 Ford Fusion while Aric Almirola will drive the No. 43 car during the 2013 season. This will be the third year at RPM for Ambrose. The 2013 season will make the second year at the team for Almirola. “It’s good to come back to Richard Petty Motorsports...

RPM re-signs Ambrose, Almirola

Richard Petty Motorsports has re-signed Sprint Cup Series drivers Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola for the 2013 season. It will be Ambrose's third season at RPM. He will again be behind the wheel of the No. 9 Ford. It will be Almirola's second season in the No. 43 Ford. Director of Competition Sammy Johns believes ''the chemistry that we are developing now with...

NASCAR: RPM Re-ups with Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola for 2013

Richard Petty Motorsports announced today that Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola will both return to the team in 2013. Ambrose has two NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victories and will enter his third season with the team. Both of his wins have come two years in a row at Watkins Glen International. He will be piloting the No. 9 Stanley/DeWalt Ford once again. Almirola will once again pilot...

CUP: Ambrose, Almirola Renew With RPM

Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola will both return to Richard Petty Motorsports in 2013...

Richard Petty Motorsports Re-Signs Ambrose and Almirola

Concord, N.C. – Richard Petty Motorsports (RPM) confirmed today its current drivers, Marcos Ambrose and Aric Almirola, have re-signed for the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup season. Ambrose will enter his third season driving for the organization. He will again be behind the wheel of the No. 9 Ford with partners Stanley and DEWALT. Almirola will begin his second season as the driver of...
Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.