Found November 17, 2012 on
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has won his second consecutive NASCAR Nationwide Series title. Stenhouse Jr. entered the day with a 20 point lead over Elliott Sadler in the point standings. The two had been back and forth all season at the top of the standings but Sadler’s wreck at Phoenix left him in a sizable hole entering the race at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The hole proved to be too much to overcome. RELATED: Second title convincing of Stenhouse ability Kyle Busch sat on the pole for the race while fifteen first time drivers took to Miami-Homestead Speedway. Busch led much of the early portion of the race but as the sun went down his car began to fade. Sam Hornish and Austin Dillon both took turns leading the field around the 1.5 mile track. Regan Smith who was making his first start at JR Motorsports ran towards the front of the field all night. He found himself leading prior to a late race caution for a wreck involving the No. 70 car of Johanna Long. Long’s car crashed into the inside wall on the backstretch after the No. 18 of Joey Logano made contact with the left rear quarter panel. The race restarted with 15 laps to go. As Smith pulled away Dillon, Sadler and Stenhouse all raced each other side by side. Brian Scott raced along side the three. While there was some close racing, no contact was made. Smith cruised across the line ahead of Busch. Busch had been hoping to win a race in the series for the ninth straight year. As he did burnouts on the front stretch, Smith was joined by Stenhouse and Logano. Logano was part of the No. 18 team which won the Owners championship. Dillion impressively finished on the lead lap in 32 of 33 races this season marking just the third time such a feat had been accomplished. Results for Ford EcoBoost 300 Pos Driver Lap Behind Led 1 Regan Smith 200 0 24 2 Kyle Busch 200 1.375 89 3 Brendan Gaughan 200 2.663 0 4 Sam Hornish Jr. 200 4.245 6 5 Austin Dillon 200 6.06 66 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 200 6.473 2 7 Brian Scott 200 6.845 0 8 Ryan Blaney 200 7.327 0 9 Elliott Sadler 200 7.655 3 10 Cole Whitt 200 8.263 0 11 Justin Allgaier 200 9.303 0 12 Michael Annett 200 9.859 0 13 Danica Patrick 200 9.898 4 14 Joey Coulter 200 10.558 0 15 Kenny Wallace 200 13.038 2 16 Joey Logano 200 13.994 1 17 Brad Sweet 200 14.344 0 18 Joe Nemechek 200 20.499 0 19 Mike Bliss 200 20.534 0 20 Scott Lagasse 199 1 Lap 0 21 Kevin Swindell 199 1 Lap 3 22 Jeremy Clements 199 1 Lap 0 23 Jeffrey Earnhardt 198 2 Laps 0 24 David Starr 198 2 Laps 0 25 Dakoda Armstrong 197 3 Laps 0 26 Mike Wallace 197 3 Laps 0 27 Eric McClure 196 4 Laps 0 28 Andrew Ranger 195 5 Laps 0 29 Jason Bowles 195 5 Laps 0 30 Hal Martin 195 5 Laps 0 31 Danny Efland 193 7 Laps 0 32 Joey Gase 190 10 Laps 0 33 Robert Richardson Jr. 188 12 Laps 0 34 Johanna Long 177 23 Laps 0 35 Erik Darnell 147 53 Laps 0 36 John Blankenship 92 108 Laps 0 37 Juan Carlos Blum 92 108 Laps 0 38 Ryan Truex 66 134 Laps 0 39 Blake Koch 40 160 Laps 0 40 Jeff Green 17 183 Laps 0 41 Chase Miller 6 194 Laps 0 42 Josh Wise 6 194 Laps 0 43 Dexter Stacey 0 200 Laps 0

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. Homestead Press Conference – Series Champion – VIDEO

Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., driver of the #6 Cargill Ford for Roush Fenway Racing, held on for his second NASCAR Nationwide Series championship. He won it at the conclusion of Saturday’s Ford EcoBoost 300 from the Homestead-Miami Speedway. Afterwards he spoke to the media about the championship. Video courtesy of NASCAR Media Group.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr, the True Champion

It has been quite a season for Ricky Stenhouse Jr and now he can celebrate with his second consecutive championship. This championship proved that he is a true champion and all he endured throughout the season set him up for this great championship run. Stenhouse Jr wasn’t as dominate as he was in 2011 but he still proved he was the best in the Nationwide Series. This season was...

Top trio set for final shot at title

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. is cautiously optimistic heading into race day about his shot at a second consecutive NASCAR Nationwide Series title. Elliott Sadler is preparing for the season finale filled with regret over an incident a week ago. And Austin Dillon? Well, he's just waiting to see what shakes out between the other two and if he can steal this title in the final race. The...

Stenhouse Jr. takes second title

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. is the sixth driver to win consecutive championships in NASCAR's Nationwide Series. Stenhouse finished sixth Saturday in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, edging Elliott Sadler for the title. About the only drama in the race was whether Stenhouse would play it safe. He did, but not without several close calls. His Roush Fenway Racing team even...

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. has all but clinched championship, but Sadler remains optimistic of chances

The battle in the NASCAR Nationwide Series point standings has been back and forth between Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Elliott Sadler this season. The two drivers have switched the points lead five times. Sadler says it would be better if they switched for a “sixth time.” Stenhouse Jr is going into Championship weekend at Homestead with a 20 point lead over Sadler and has all but...

Regan Smith Homestead Press Conference – Race Winner –VIDEO

Regan Smith picked up the win in his first race with JR Motorsports on Saturday in the Ford EcoBoost 300 at the Homestead-Miami Speedway. After the win, he spoke to the media about the race. Video courtesy of NASCAR Media Group.

Roush Fenway’s Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Wins Second Consecutive Nationwide Series Title

HOMESTEAD, Fla. — Ricky Stenhouse Jr. left little doubt that he’s ready for a promotion. Stenhouse became the sixth driver to win consecutive championships in NASCAR’s Nationwide Series. He finished sixth Saturday in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, edging Elliott Sadler for the title. “A lot of people put a lot of effort into this and I’m just the lucky guy...

JR Motorsports Ford EcoBoost 300 Race Preview

Regan Smith will pilot the No. 5 Chevrolet for JR Motorsports at Homestead-Miami Speedway, giving the Dale Earnhardt Jr. owned company three cars in this weekend’s season finale race. The race will mark the eighth event in which JRM has entered three cars this season. Smith’s entry is in preparation for 2013 when he’ll compete for a Nationwide Series Championship...
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.