Originally written on Tireball.com  |  Last updated 8/30/14
Jimmie Johnson claimed the pole for the STP Gas Booster 500 at Martinsville Speedway by setting a track record. Johnson ran a lap of 19.244 which beat out Marcos Ambrose’s 19.251 who will start second. A total of 44 cars attempted to qualify for Sunday’s race. Qualifying Results for the STP Gas Booster 500 1. Jimmie Johnson2. Marcos Ambrose 3. BrianVickers 4. Joey Logano 5. Kasey Kahne 6. Jeff Gordon 7. Brad Keselowski 8. Matt Kenseth 9. Carl Edwards 10. Ryan Newman 11. Kyle Busch 12. Martin Truex Jr. 13. Jamie McMurray 14. Juan Pablo Montoya 15. Clint Bowyer 16. Paul Menard 17. Dale Earnhardt Jr. 18. Regan Smith 19. Kurt Busch 20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 21. Kevin Harvick 22. Greg Biffle 23. David Ragan 24. David Stremme 25. Travis Kvapil 26. Tony Stewart 27. Michael McDowell 28. Scott Speed 29. Jeff Burton 30. David Gilliland 31. Bobby Labonte 32. Danica Patrick 33. Landon Cassill 34. Aric Almirola 35. Mark Martin 36. Ken Schrader 37. JJ Yeley 38. Scott Riggs 39. Dave Blaney 40. David...

Ohio State player wearing Kosta Karageorge's No. 53

Rob Ryan: I love Sean Payton

NJIT pulls off shocking upset over No. 17 Michigan

Warriors owner: No one in organization liked Mark Jackson

Report: Anonymous teammate blasts Robert Griffin III

Big Ten could see a bowl eligible team miss postseason


Cam Newton on struggles: ‘You realize rainy days don’t last’

Five questions to ask ahead of the MLB Winter Meetings

Redskins tickets selling for as little as $1

Andrew Miller agrees to four-year, $36M deal with Yankees

Brandon Marshall out for the season with collapsed lung

Josh Smith has the worst streak in sports right now

Has TCU done enough to clinch a playoff bid?

Five things to watch on Sunday

Is Jay Cutler on his way out in Chicago?

Four craziest possible NFL playoff scenarios

Is Colin Kaepernick's future up in the air in San Francisco?

Mariners start ad campaign after Nelson Cruz signing

WATCH: Kemba Walker makes game-winning layup at buzzer

WATCH: Antetokounmpo posterizes Chris Bosh

WATCH: Tiger Woods dry heaves before making birdie at 1st hole

WATCH: Trevone Boykin catches TD pass on trick play

WATCH: Arizona center pukes on ball, snaps it anyway

Yasiel Puig lands on cover of MLB The Show 15

Delivered to your inbox
You'll also receive Yardbarker's daily Top 10, featuring the best sports stories from around the web. Customize your newsletter to get articles on your favorite sports and teams. And the best part? It's free!

By clicking "Sign Me Up", you have read and agreed to the Fox Sports Digital Privacy Policy and Terms of Use. You can opt out at any time. For more information, please see our Privacy Policy.

Is Jay Cutler on his way out in Chicago?

NJIT stuns No. 17 Michigan

Warriors owner: Nobody liked Mark Jackson

Josh Smith has the worst streak in sports right now

Werth headed to jail for speeding?

In remembrance of sports columnist Bryan Burwell

What if the USFL didn't fold?

How do you know if your team is the “Mystery Team”?

Bulldogs OL saves day at strip club?

Game of the week: Seahawks vs. Eagles

Yankees trade for Didi Gregorius

Ortiz: BoSox must step up for Lester

Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.