Found December 24, 2012 on Yardbarker Blogger Network
I didn’t mean to throw you a curveball for this week’s Horse Racing Race of the Week, but with a relatively quiet weekend schedule, and one of my favorite races of the year just a few days later, I decided to make the 2012 Malibu Stakes on opening day at Santa Anita in Acadia, California my focal race this week. The field, as usual, drew very strong with 2012 Breeders Cup Sprint runner up The Lumber Guy listed as the 3-1 morning line favorite. The seven furlong, $300,000 Malibu, like it is every year, will be run on Wednesday Dec 26 and boasts a very impressive list of past winners. Run every year, with the exception of four, since 1952, the list includes Round Table (1952), electrifying stretch runner and Horse of the Year Buckpasser (1966), followed by the gorgeous Damascus (1968). Other winners were fan favorite Ancient Title (1974), J.O. Tobin, who was the first to conquer the great Seattle Slew, won this race in 1978, perhaps the greatest horse this correspondent has ever seen ...
Today's Best Stuff
For Bloggers

Join the Yardbarker Network for more promotion, traffic, and money.

Company Info
What is Yardbarker?

Yardbarker is the largest network of sports blogs and pro athlete blogs on the web. This site is the hub of the Yardbarker Network, where our editors and algorithms curate the best sports content from our network and beyond.